<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d23307957\x26blogName\x3dE-Spire+Entertainment+News\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttp://e-spire.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://e-spire.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d4266829708869687405', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

E-Spire Entertainment News

A place where we inspire to bring you the best in entertainment news.

Pet Shop Boys releases new CD

Wednesday, June 07, 2006

New Album From the Pop/Dance Icons Available June 27

LOS ANGELES—Pet Shop Boys have consistently created some of the most interesting, entertaining, and substantial dance and pop music of the last two decades. Now, twenty years after the release of their first album, the Boys return with their ninth album, FUNDAMENTAL, an infectious blast of pop and dance music, available June 27 at regular retail outlets and at http://www.rhino.com/.

Also available June 27 is a limited-edition deluxe version of FUNDAMENTAL which includes an eight-song bonus disc, FUNDAMENTALISM, consisting of five remixes of FUNDAMENTAL tracks and two songs unavailable elsewhere: “In Private,” with Elton John and “Fugitive,” produced by Richard X. The disc also includes a remix of “Flamboyant,” originally included on PopArt, Pet Shop Boys’ greatest hits collection, remixed here. The regular release CD carries a suggested price of $18.98, while the limited-edition deluxe release carries an SRP of $24.98.

The album reunites Pet Shop Boys with legendary producer Trevor Horn, who first worked with them on the seminal “Left To My Own Devices” in 1988. It was recorded in London starting in May 2005 and features 12 tracks—11 new Tennant/Lowe compositions and one track, “Numb,” written by Diane Warren. With songs like “The Sodom And Gomorrah Show,” “I Made My Excuses And Left,” “Psychological,” and “Twentieth Century,” FUNDAMENTAL is proof again that Pet Shop Boys are masters of pop music with something on its mind.

Neil Tennant says: “We think it’s a great Pet Shop Boys album and also a great Trevor Horn record.”

Trevor Horn adds: “I have always wanted to make a whole album with Pet Shop Boys. This album shows off their wonderful songwriting and is a record that I think only the three of us together could have made.”

One of the album’s highlights is “I’m With Stupid,” a love song of sorts, inspired by the relationship between Tony Blair and George W. Bush. The video for the song features the U.K.’s hottest comedy team, David Walliams and Matt Lucas, stars of the series Little Britain.

Neil Tennant says of “I’m With Stupid,” “It’s a love song about how the rest of the world can’t understand why you’re going out with someone. It’s also a satire about the relationship between Blair and Bush from Blair’s point of view.”

Mobile Info
Get Official Pet Shop Boys Ringtones
Text Pet Shop to 74466*
* Requires compatible handset and service through participating carriers. Standard text messaging rates apply. See your contract for details. Available content subject to change at any time. (c) 2006 rhino.

1. “Psychological”
2. “The Sodom And Gomorrah Show”
3. “I Made My Excuses And Left”
4. “Minimal”
5. “Numb”
6. “God Willing”
7. “Luna Park”
8. “I’m With Stupid”
9. “Casanova In Hell”
10. “Twentieth Century”
11. “Indefinite Leave To Remain”
12. “Integral”

FUNDAMENTALISM Limited-Edition Bonus Disc Track Listing
1. “Fugitive” (Richard X Extended Mix)
2. “Sodom” (Trentmoller Remix)
3. “Psychological” (Alter Ego Remix)
4. “Flamboyant” (Michael Mayer Kompakt Mix)
5. “I’m With Stupid” (Melnyk Heavy Petting Mix)
6. “In Private” [featuring Elton John] (Stuart Crichton Club Mix)
7. “Minimal” (Lobe Mix)
8. “Gomorrah” (Dettinger Remix)

# # # #
posted by Shelia, 11:21 PM


Add a comment